OPEN LETTER TO ETH ZURICH  

 FOR GENDER-EQUALITY AT    THE UNIVERSITIES!  

 

READ THE OPEN LETTER 

Open Letter: Demands for the ETH (Download)

 

The ETH Zurich regularly occupies one of the top places in international university rankings and is proud to assume a leading role in research and teaching. However, as soon as social issues are addressed, particularly with regard to gender equality, the Swiss model institution reveals itself in a less positive light. In contrast to other world-leading universities, the ETH Zurich has neither an effective interdepartmental plan with concrete measures for implementing gender equality, nor are there guidelines for dealing with cases of discrimination or sexual harassment and violence. By international standards, the resources invested by the ETH Zurich to combat gender inequality are also negligible.

 

We demand that ETH Zurich becomes aware of its social responsibility as a leading teaching and research institution, and that it takes gender equality issues seriously and undertakes effective measures to tackle the imminent challenges.

 

 

Gender mainstreaming on all levels instead of barely effective projects and workshops

 

With the Gender Action Plan adopted in February 2014, the ETH Zurich set itself ambitious goals, including a balanced representation of women and men on all academic career levels. However, as the ETH internal statistics in the annually published Gender Monitoring demonstrate, very little has happened since then. The proportion of ordinary and extraordinary professorships held by women, for example, rose only from 10.2% to 12.1% in the three years after 2014 (ETH Gender Monitoring, 2017).

 

This shows that ETH Zurich's current gender equality strategy is not effective and must be urgently reconsidered if the ETH Zurich is to achieve the goals it has set itself. We therefore call for a paradigm shift in ETH Zurich's gender equality strategy; a move away from its current focus on small, specific projects towards a holistic strategy that pervades all ETH-levels. This implies taking into account the individual and varying circumstances, the preconditions and interests of different genders in all decisions (gender mainstreaming).

 

We demand:

 

  • The Elimination of the structural gender-bias on the highest level by implementing a quota for shortlists and selection committees

  • Mandatory leadership training for executives and professors at the ETH Zurich, in which gender training (sensitization and training with regard to discrimination and promotion on the basis of gender) plays an important role

  • "Gender-mainstreamed" teaching:

    • (1) introducing gender-sensitive teaching methods as pedagogical practice: Enhancement of the design and implementation of teaching activities, e.g. when it comes to the distribution of speaking time or adopting anonymous examination procedures

    • (2) being aware of gender inequality in the subject content: Aiming for more equality between women and men in terms of subject, course literature and other teaching materials

  • Addressing and recognising the existence of multiple gender identities instead of the strict division of sexes (binary thinking)

  • An independent commission/body that reviews and, if necessary, adapts all relevant existing and future ETH documents and founding principles (strategy, mission statement, etc.) for potentially discriminatory formulations

  • Consistent use of gender-sensitive language in all ETH documents and on the website

  • Increased financial and human resources in promoting gender equality and extension of the body for equal opportunities lead by a minimum of 200% percentage job  


 

Effective measures for preventing and combating sexual assault instead of empty words.

 

"ETH Zurich strictly does not tolerate any form of sexual assault or discrimination based on gender.” (Gender Action Plan ETH Zürich,2014).The fact that this promise does not reflect reality at the ETH has been demonstrated by media-covered incidents in recent months. Not only must the ETH Zurich speak out clearly against sexual assault, it must also provide adequate infrastructure and agree on specific guidelines for dealing with cases of harassment, violence and discrimination.

 

We demand:

 

  • The establishment of internal as well as external offices for contact and support with qualified consultants who are independent from the ETH Zurich

  • The option to report personally and anonymously

  • A respectful and serious treatments with those reports

  • A binding and publicly accessible ETH guideline on how to deal with sexual assault

  • Awareness-raising measures for ETH employees, in particular for managers and professors (training courses, guidelines, workshops, etc.)

 

All the universities with which ETH Zurich likes to compare itself internationally - Harvard,  Cambridge, Stanford, Oxford, MIT, Caltech and Imperial College London among others - already have the aforementioned institutional facilities and guidelines. Most of these top universities also have a 24/7 reporting service for cases of sexual assault and in-house as well as external lawyers for the victims.

In October 2017, Cambridge also launched a broad campaign to combat sexual harassment under the name "Breaking the silence", which is having a noticeable effect. ETH Zurich risks losing top female candidates who might feel more welcome at one of these other universities. It is time ETH reflects its global position as a top institution by becoming a leader in gender equality issues.

 

 

Understanding care work as a shared responsibility instead of focusing on women and mothers only

 

The ETH Zurich already offers a broad range of services to promote the compatibility of family and career. These range from daycare nursery facilities to specific events for parents, family rooms, consultations and financial support. However, ETH Zurich's compatibility strategy focuses too strongly on women and mothers. Thus, the ETH implicitly and uncritically reinforces the assumption that care work should be carried out by women only.

 

We demand that ETH shifts to an understanding of care work as the responsibility of society as a whole. This includes, among other things, encouraging and supporting men in their role as fathers. The fact that Switzerland lags behind all other European countries in terms of paid parental leave should not prevent the ETH from introducing progressive regulations. On the contrary, the ETH Zurich could take on a pioneering role in this area.

 

We demand:

 

  • Parental leave of 38 weeks, with paid paternity leave of at least 8 weeks. This proposal is in line with the recommendations of the Federal Coordination Commission for Family Affairs (EKFF, 2018) based on scientifically sound arguments and is far below the OECD average of 54 weeks of paid parental leave

  • Adjusted assistantship where the time used for care-work will be deducted from the time of the assistantship


 

We demand that ETH Zurich implements our claims. Until 2020 we expect a proposition, in which the ETH states the necessary measurements to enhance gender equality.

Frauen*streikkollektiv Zürcher Hochschulen, AG ETH                                                                       14. Mai 2019

 
 

SIGN THE OPEN LETTER 

WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT THE OPEN LETTER

I signed the open letter because I totally agree with all the points made, and I want to experience a change in my every day life at ETH.

 

OPEN LETTER SIGNATORIES 

Current number of signatures:

1513

© 2019 by Frauen*streik Kollektiv an Hochschulen AG ETH

OFFENER BRIEF AN DIE ETH ZÜRICH FÜR MEHR GESCHLECHTER- GLEICHBERECHTIGUNG AN DER HOCHSCHULE! 

 

LIES DEN OFFENEN BRIEF! 

Offener Brief: Forderungen an die ETH (Download)

In internationalen Hochschulrankings spielt die ETH Zürich in den vorderen Rängen mit und ist stolz darauf, in Bezug auf Forschung und Lehre eine Führungsrolle zu übernehmen. Der Blick auf die eidgenössische Vorzeigeinstitution trübt sich jedoch, sobald man sich sozialen Themen und insbesondere der Frage der Geschlechtergleichstellung widmet. Im Gegensatz zu anderen weltweit führenden Hochschulen, verfügt die ETH weder über einen wirksamen departementsübergreifenden Plan zur Umsetzung der Gleichberechtigung mit konkreten Massnahmen, noch über einen Leitfaden zum Umgang mit Fällen von Diskriminierung oder sexualisierter Belästigung und Gewalt. Im internationalen Vergleich sind auch die Ressourcen, die die ETH in die Bekämpfung der Geschlechterungleichheit investiert, verschwindend klein.

 

Wir fordern, dass sich die ETH Zürich in sozialen Belangen ihrer Verantwortung als führende Lehr- und Forschungsinstitution bewusst wird. Sie soll Fragen der Geschlechtergleichberechtigung ernst nehmen und sich verpflichten, die anstehenden Herausforderungen effektiv anzugehen.


 

Gender Mainstreaming auf allen Ebenen statt wirkungsarmer Projekte und Workshops

 

Mit dem im Februar 2014 verabschiedeten Gender Action Plan hat sich die ETH Zürich ambitionierte Ziele gesteckt. Unter anderem soll ein ausgewogenes Gleichgewicht der Geschlechter auf allen akademischen Karrierestufen der ETH erzielt werden. Konkret hat sich seither wenig getan. Dies zeigen die ETH-internen Statistiken des jährlich veröffentlichten Gender Monitorings. Wenn beispielsweise die Besetzungen von ordentlichen und ausserordentlichen Professuren betrachtet werden, so ist der Anteil an Frauen* zwischen 2014 und 2017 gerade einmal von 10.2% auf 12.1% gestiegen (ETH Gender Monitoring, 2017).


 

Dies zeigt: Die momentane Gleichstellungsstrategie der ETH ist nicht wirkungsvoll. Wenn die ETH ihre selbstgesteckten Ziele tatsächlich erreichen möchte, müssen diese dringend überdacht werden. Wir fordern deshalb einen Paradigmenwechsel in der Gleichstellungsstrategie der ETH im Sinne des Gender Mainstreamings: Weg von der momentanen, auf gezielte Projekte ausgerichteten Gleichstellungsarbeit hin zu einer ganzheitlichen Strategie, die Gender als Querschnittsthema versteht. Dies beinhaltet die Berücksichtigung der unterschiedlichen Lebenssituationen, Voraussetzungen und Interessen aller Geschlechter bei allen Entscheidungen auf sämtlichen Ebenen.

 

Wir fordern:

 

  • Elimination des strukturellen Gender-Bias auf höchster Stufe in dem zum Beispiel bei den Shortlists und den Berufungkomissionen eine Quote einführt wird

  • Obligatorische Leadership-Trainings für Führungskräfte und Professor*innen der ETH Zürich, in denen Gender-Trainings (Sensibilisierung und Fortbildung in Bezug auf Geschlechterdiskriminierung und -förderung) einen wichtigen Teil ausmachen

  • „Gender-mainstreamed“ Unterricht:

    • (1) Geschlechtersensible Unterrichtsformen als pädagogische Praxis einführen: Verbesserung der Gestaltung und Durchführung von Lehrtätigkeiten, z.B. wenn es um die Verteilung der Redezeit geht, sowie die Einführung von anonymen Prüfungen

    • (2) Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in die Wahl der Fachinhalte einfliessen lassen: Gleichstellung von Frauen* und Männern* in Bezug auf das Fach, die Kursliteratur und anderer Lehrmaterialien

  • Thematisierung und Anerkennung der Existenz von mehreren Geschlechtsidentitäten anstelle der strengen Zweiteilung von Geschlechtern (binäres Denken)

  • Eine unabhängige Kommission/Stelle, die sämtliche massgebenden, bestehenden sowie zukünftigen Dokumente, Denk- und Handlungsgrundlagen der ETH (Strategie, Leitbild, etc.) auf diskriminierende Formulierungen und Darstellungen überprüft und, wenn nötig, anpasst

  • Konsequente Verwendung von geschlechtergerechter Sprache in sämtlichen ETH-Dokumenten, sowie auf der Website

  • Erhöhung der finanziellen und personellen Ressourcen im Bereich Gleichstellungsförderung und den Ausbau der Stelle für Chancengleichheit auf mindestens 200 Stellenprozent

Effektive Vermeidung und Bekämpfung von sexualisierter Belästigung statt leerer Worte.

 

Die ETH Zürich toleriert strikt keine Formen von sexueller Belästigung oder Diskriminierung wegen des Geschlechts“ (Gender Action Plan ETH Zürich,2014). Dass dieses Versprechen nicht sehr viel mit der ETH-Realität zu tun hat, zeigten medienwirksame Vorfälle der letzten Monate. Die ETH muss sich nicht nur gegen sexualisierte Gewalt und Belästigung aussprechen, sondern auch eine adäquate Infrastruktur bereitstellen und sich auf eine klare Vorgehensweise bei Fällen von Belästigung, Gewalt und Diskriminierung einigen.

 

Wir fordern:

 

  • Die Einführung von Anlaufstellen mit qualifizierten und von der ETH unabhängigen Berater*innen

  • Die Möglichkeit zur persönlichen sowie anonymen Berichterstattung

  • Eine respektvolle und ernsthafte Handhabung eingereichter Meldungen

  • Einen verbindlichen und öffentlich zugänglichen Leitfaden im Umgang mit sexualisierter Belästigung und Gewalt

  • Massnahmen zur Sensibilisierung für ETH-Angestellte, insbesondere für Manager*innen und Professor*innen (Trainings, Leitfäden, Workshops etc.)

 

Sämtliche Hochschulen, mit denen sich die ETH international gerne misst – von Harvard, Cambridge, Stanford, Oxford über MIT, Caltech bis zum Imperial College London – verfügen bereits über die genannten institutionellen Einrichtungen und Leitfäden. Die meisten dieser Top-Universitäten verfügen zudem über einen 24/7 Meldedienst für Fälle von sexualisierter Belästigung und hauseigene sowie externe Anwält*innen für Betroffene. Cambridge hat zusätzlich im Oktober 2017 unter dem Namen “Breaking the silence” eine breit angelegte Kampagne zur Bekämpfung von sexualisierter Belästigung lanciert, die zusehends Wirkung zeigt. Die ETH läuft Gefahr weibliche Spitzenkandidatinnen zu verlieren, da sie sich an einer anderen Universität willkommener fühlen. Es ist an der Zeit, dass die ETH auch in Gleichstellungsfragen eine Führungsposition einnimmt.

Erziehungs- und Pflegearbeit als gesamtgesellschaftliche Verantwortung statt Fokus auf Frauen* und Mütter

 

Die ETH Zürich verfügt bereits über ein sehr breit angelegtes Angebot zur Förderung der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf. Dieses reicht von bereitgestellten Krippenplätzen über Veranstaltungen für Eltern, Familienräume, Beratungen bis zu finanzieller Unterstützung. Die ETH-Strategie im Bereich Vereinbarkeit ist jedoch zu sehr auf Frauen* und Mütter ausgerichtet. Damit unterstützt die ETH implizit die Annahme, dass Erziehungs- und Pflegearbeit noch immer grösstenteils von Frauen* getragen werden soll, ohne diese Haltung kritisch zu reflektieren.

 

Wir fordern, dass sich die ETH explizit dafür ausspricht, dass Erziehungs- und Pflegearbeit eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Verantwortung sein muss. Dies beinhaltet unter anderem, Männer* in ihrer Vaterrolle zu bekräftigen. Dass die Schweiz in Bezug auf bezahlten Elternurlaub im internationalen Vergleich das Schlusslicht darstellt, sollte die ETH nicht davon abhalten, fortschrittliche Regelungen einzuführen. Im Gegenteil könnte die ETH in diesem Bereich eine “Vorreiterinnenrolle” übernehmen.

 

Wir fordern:

 

  • Bezahlte Elternzeit von 38 Wochen, mit einem Vaterschaftsurlaub von mind. 8 Wochen. Dieser Vorschlag entspricht den auf wissenschaftlich fundierten Argumenten basierenden Empfehlungen der Eidgenössische Koordinationskommission für Familienfragen EKFF (2018) und liegt weit unter dem OECD-Durchschnitt von 54 Wochen Elternurlaub

  • Angepasste maximale Assistenzzeit, in der die Zeit für Care Arbeit von der geleisteten Assistenzzeit abgezogen wird


 

Wir verlangen, dass die ETH unsere Forderungen in die Tat umsetzt. Wir erwarten folglich bis 2020 einen konkreten Vorschlag, mit welchen Massnahmen die ETH die anstehenden Herausforderungen in Bezug auf die Geschlechtergleichberechtigung angehen wird.

Frauen*streikkollektiv Zürcher Hochschulen, AG ETH                                                                        14. Mai 2019

 
 

UNTERSCHEIBE DEN BRIEF!

 MEINUNGEN ZUM OFFENEN

 BRIEF  

I signed the open letter because I totally agree with all the points made, and I want to experience a change in my every day life at ETH.

 

UNTERSCHRIFTENZÄHLERIN 

Aktuelle Anzahl Unterschriften: 

1513

© 2019 by Frauen*streik Kollektiv an Hochschulen AG ETH